A lot of information accumulates over time in school, but how much of it is actually necessary and valuable? I believe that, of course, the basic mathematical and English skills should be a top priority to learn, but besides that, there are many other things that should be included into our studies that prepare us for the real world.

Have you ever just watched your parents in amazement as they make mortgage payments and file for taxes. You’re just there in confusion about what the heck is going on. Entering high school, we start to officially prepare ourselves to become responsible young adults to, hopefully, be successful in the real world, but how many times have teachers actually guided us on how to apply for a job or how to even write a check. Many times my mother has asked me to fill out a check, which by her inferencing, expects me to know how to fill one out for her to since I go to school. There shouldn’t be separate classes about how to do each individual thing, but there should be an established time to discuss similar matters. By doing this, it will prepare students to be a lot more responsible and ready for the real world. They could actually put these skills to use right away after high school and entering college.

Most high school graduates will go out and apply for a job. Teamwork should also be an active skill that should be practiced by a good majority of students. Teamwork is used in almost every career and it is a necessary job skill. It’ll help you comprehend what it is like to work with others while at the same time getting to know your strengths and weaknesses. I am lucky enough to have presented the opportunity to live in an education environment where you use teamwork everyday. It has helped me build my skills by transforming me into a better leader for when it comes to any situation. I am able to experience different types of roles when it come to group work, so there is a lot of beneficial outcomes for me. Now for when I graduate, I will be able to take those teamwork skills into the real world which will put me in favor when landing a job.

After having a discussion about why reading is a big prioritization in school, I’ve come to realize that it actually is a big part of our learning journey. There are many reasons as to why it is such an important skill to master. Recently, little kids have been given the push to start reading as early as pre-k to get their reading skills rolling. By doing this, it’s going to expand so much knowledge into their brains including the ability to create a picture in their minds using a story. With reading also comes an expansion into their vocabulary which opens new worlds for them. It gives them a greater understanding of the world and using different ways to express themselves. I don’t know them right off the bat, but I know that there are some studies showing that if students excel in reading, it helps with math. Reading is also linked to helping other school subjects, as well.

The upcoming generations of young adolescents are going to be a lot smarter about the world, so we should properly teach them in school the necessary skill for them to be even more successful. If schools focus on teaching kids the importance of reading and guiding them on how to be independent young adults.

