All I see is a black hole, with no place out. It’s not the first time I’ve been down this road. I’ve seen this many times before. There can actually be a way to get out of this miserable “hole.” A light begins to break through the troubles and through the stress. It’s time to follow that light.

Depression is a very touchy subject to some people, including me. I’ve decided to talk about my experience along this road. First of all, depression isn’t the same thing as sadness. Depression actually causes problems to the functioning of a person and it typically lasts longer than a period of sadness. Sadness, on the other hand, is one of the symptoms of depression. Depression goes way beyond that. In my opinion, it’s not a simple “bad day,” but it’s a series of obstacles that have to be faced every single day, over and over again. I wake up, get dressed, get through the day, and repeat it. Yeah, people tell me that I have friends and family that care about me and love me, but sometimes that doesn’t help. No matter how much people have told me that they’re always going to be here for me, I’ve always pushed them away. There were times where I would lose myself and it would take me a while to return. On those days, I wasn’t exactly present, I wasn’t myself. I thought it was better to distance myself, so that I wouldn’t hurt others in the process of finding myself.

Communication. Communication can be the “light” that breaks through the “black hole”. Whenever a person is depressed, they tend to distance themselves from people that are trying to help. Like I said in the beginning, spilling out emotions can really help take some weight off the shoulders. Talk to someone. Talk all day, if necessary, but let absolutely everything that is bothering you, out. I know that it can be quite difficult to open up to people, even to the closest of friends, but it isn’t good to bottle up everything inside because it can get overwhelming, causing more stress.

Think positive. Thinking positive can also be the “light”. Dot it more often. It’s easier said than done, but it isn’t impossible. Tell yourself this everyday: “I am worth it. I am important. I get to decide my happiness. I am here for a reason.” Thinking positive will help make progress to finding happiness. This doesn’t seem like a big deal, but it is. Thoughts play a role in our everyday state of being.

Everyone can overcome these, so called, obstacles. It just takes a while to find the light at the end of the tunnel. It takes a while to realize that everyone has the power to get through anything and everything, to control how they want to live. It may not seem like it at the moment, but it’ll get there. I’m still trying to find that light at the end of the tunnel, myself and I am so close. The key is to have hope, no matter how difficult things get. Don’t give up.

