By Kiara Alacron

For local interests I decided to interview a local hairstylist at bloomington salon, Maria Urrutia, an 8 year cosmetologist agreed to be asked a few questions on my behalf.

Q: Tell me a little bit about yourself ?

A: “ I love,love,love to do hair, it makes me so happy when my customers are pleased. I have a 17 year old daughter, I love to cook as well. I enjoy spending time with my family when i am not working. and the company i get when i’m working at the salon. They are my second family.””

Q: How dependent are you?

A: “ i am a very dependable person and I can do any task I am put do with diligence and one of my best qualities to add to that is that i am very trustworthy. I can honestly do just about anything”

Q:what are your principal duties and/or responsibilities?

A: ““As a cosmetologist i must attend and graduate from a cosmetology program. Upon graduation, they must pass a certification exam at the state level in order to receive my  license. Most of us  work in salons or barbershops, which requires us to be on our feet throughout most of the day. On average, we make  just under $11 per hour, according to the United States Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics. However, we also receive tips from our customers depending on how well of a job we did on performing  services.

Q: do you enjoy doing hair ?

A: “ Yes it is my passion, I have been doing it for almost 9 years now and I will continue till my health says otherwise. I look forward to my job everyday and since i have fun with it, I don’t really consider it to be work. it’s bliss.”

Q: tell me what you think the biggest challenge in a hairdressing career is?

A: “I would have to say that it’s finding out how to make others happy, and just managing all the people i have to take care of it. It’s a lot plus the money expense can get pretty high considering all the products we have to buy, it all comes out of our check..’

Q: what’s it like being a cosmetologist
A: I like to show up about half an hour before my first appointment. This gives me time to check my schedule and see who is getting chemical services, in order to have the products ready for when my clients come in. I make sure the salon is set up, turn on the coffee pot, turn on the music and have everything ready to go.

